History of Western Music III, 1730 to 1850

Schedule

List of Due Dates

Thu., Sep. 27 Roundtable 1
Tue., Oct. 2 Midterm 1
Fri., Oct. 19, 5:00 p.m. Paper proposal due
Thu., Nov. 1 Roundtable 2
Tue., Nov. 6 Midterm 2
Fri., Nov. 9, 5:00 p.m. Paper outline due
Tue., Nov. 27 Group Performance Presentation no. 1
Thu., Nov. 29 Group Performance Presentation no. 2 and 3
Fri., Nov. 30, 5:00 p.m. Paper draft due
Tue., Dec. 4 Group Performance Presentation no. 4
Thu., Dec. 6 Roundtable 3
Tue., Dec. 11 Roundtable 3 essay due in class
Wed., Dec. 19, 12:30--3:30 p.m. Final exam; Final paper due

Schedule of Classes, Topics, and Assignments

Week 1

Thu., Aug. 30 Introduction; Canon and classics
Fri., Aug. 31 Workshop

Unit I: Mozart and Music in the Enlightenment

Week 2

Mon., Sep. 3 Labor Day Break
Tue., Sep. 4 Mozart’s Figaro: Style and sensibility in the Enlightenment
Thu., Sep. 6 Opera in eighteenth-century Naples
Fri., Sep. 7 Workshop

Week 3

Tue., Sep. 11 Opera in Paris and Vienna
Thu., Sep. 13 Figaro: Arias and characters
Fri., Sep. 14 Workshop

Week 4

Tue., Sep. 18 Figaro overture; Galant instrumental music
Thu., Sep. 20 Eighteenth-century religious music around the globe
Fri., Sep. 21 Workshop

Week 5

Tue., Sep. 25 Figaro: Ensembles; Political and social values
Thu., Sep. 27 Roundtable 1
Fri., Sep. 28 Workshop

Week 6

Tue., Oct. 2 Midterm 1

Unit II: Beethoven and Music in the Age of Revolution

Thu., Oct. 4 Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony: First movement
Fri., Oct. 5 Workshop

Week 7

Tue., Oct. 9 Sonatas and symphonies before Beethoven
Thu., Oct. 11 Beethoven’s three periods
Fri., Oct. 12 Workshop

Week 8

Oct. 15–17 Fall break
Thu., Oct. 18 Beethoven’s Fifth: Mvt. II–III
Fri., Oct. 19 Workshop
Fri., Oct. 19, 5:00 p.m. Paper proposal due

Week 9

Tue., Oct. 23 Beethoven’s Fifth: Finale
Thu., Oct. 25 Italian opera from Rossini to Bellini
Fri., Oct. 26 Workshop

Week 10

Tue., Oct. 30 Beethoven’s late music and the genius myth
Thu., Nov. 1 Roundtable 2
Fri., Nov. 2 Workshop

Week 11

Tue., Nov. 6 Midterm 2

Unit III: Schubert and Music in the Age of Industry

Thu., Nov. 8 Schubert’s Winterreise: Songs in the Romantic movement
Fri., Nov. 9 Workshop
Fri., Nov. 9, 5:00 p.m. Paper outline due

Week 12

Tue., Nov. 13 In camp, square, and field: American music through the Civil War
Thu., Nov. 15 At home: Songs and piano music; Gender and sexuality
Fri., Nov. 16 Workshop

Week 13

Tue., Nov. 20 In concert and on tour: Virtuosos, tone poets, and their critics
Nov. 21–25 Thanksgiving Break

Week 14

Tue., Nov. 27 In the opera house: National traditions
Tue., Nov. 27 Group Performance Presentation no. 1
Thu., Nov. 29 In the concert hall: Instrumental music after Beethoven
Thu., Nov. 29 Group Performance Presentation no. 2 and 3
Fri., Nov. 30 Workshop
Fri., Nov. 30, 5:00 p.m. Paper draft due

Please read the assignment description.

Week 15

Tue., Dec. 4 Religious music in the age of art-religion
Tue., Dec. 4 Group Performance Presentation no. 4
Thu., Dec. 6 Roundtable 3
Fri., Dec. 7 Workshop

Week 16

Tue., Dec. 11 Conclusions: What is a classic?
Tue., Dec. 11 Roundtable 3 essay due in class
Dec. 13–14 Reading period

Week 17

Wed., Dec. 19, 12:30–3:30 p.m. Final exam; Final paper due